Congratulations to the seven National Merit Scholars from our Class of 2017: Ketan Agrawal, Parker Graham, Jasmine Lee, Sid Menon, Eric Min, Michael Qi and Gaby Sterkowicz!

Overall last year, 28 seniors from Columbus Academy were recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation – 14 as Semifinalists and 14 as Commended – which was the highest number of any independent school in Ohio and the greatest percentage of all high schools, public and private, in the entire state.

Semifinalists in 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program

  • Ketan Agrawal, son of Dr. Rita and Dr. Amit Agrawal of New Albany
  • Raymond Cao, son of Xin Wen and Ge Cao of New Albany
  • Whitney Dankworth, son of Shannan and Charles Dankworth of New Albany
  • Parker Graham, son of Christina and Carl Graham of Italian Village
  • Aditya Jadcherla, son of Dr. Mohini and Dr. Sudarshan Jadcherla of Galena
  • Jasmine Lee, daughter of Teresa Lam and Dr. Jin-Fa Lee of New Albany
  • Sid Menon, son of Geeta and Raj Menon of Blacklick
  • Eric Min, son of Wei-Wei Wu and Dr. Gary Min of New Albany
  • Madeline Owen, daughter of Stephanie and Andrew Owen of Worthington
  • Michael Qi, son of Xinglan Fu and Wayne Qi of Westerville
  • Tristan Rhee, son of Min and Hansel Rhee of New Albany
  • Gabriela Sterkowicz, daughter of Dr. Beata and Dr. Jerry Sterkowicz of New Albany
  • Karina Walter, daughter of Claudia and Blane Walter of New Albany
  • Sarah Wexner, daughter of Abigail and Leslie Wexner of New Albany

2017 National Merit Commended Students

  • Caroline Anders, daughter of Teresa and Benjamin Anders of Gahanna
  • Jacinta Crestanello, daughter of Patricia Ansorena and Dr. Juan Crestanello of New Albany
  • Audrey Grammel, daughter of Dr. Andrea Sweazy-Grammel and Dr. David Grammel of Canal Winchester
  • Chiru Gunawardena, son of Shamantha Gunawardena of New Albany and Dr. Yamani Gunawardena of Powell
  • Austin Ho, son of Dr. Jennifer Young and Dr. George Ho of Gahanna
  • Hamza Kashubeck, son of Dr. Asma Mobin-Uddin and Dr. John Kashubeck of Dublin
  • Tommy Mampieri, son of Amy and Tony Mampieri of Westerville
  • Tia Proicou, daughter of Stephanie and George Proicou ’82 of Gahanna
  • Max Rocco, son of Caroline and Dr. James Rocco of Powell
  • Murphy Rubcich, daughter of Cynthia and David Rubcich of Westerville
  • Nathan Sardo, son of Alicja and Dr. James Sardo of New Albany
  • Matthew Schmitz, son of Elizabeth and Patrick Schmitz of Lewis Center
  • Jessica Shen, daughter of Dana Wu and Jeff Shen of Powell
  • Michael Zhang, son of Ling Zhao and Howard Zhang of Dublin