Columbus Academy celebrated its 106th graduating class during a morning Commencement ceremony on June 6.

Under a gorgeous sky, the school’s faculty, staff and trustees entered the Senior Quad to the sound of bagpipes playing, followed by the seniors.

The ceremony began with a pair of welcomes from Head of School Melissa Soderberg and senior class president David Barren ’19.

After an interlude performance by the Viking Orchestra, Dalyn DeCree ’19 gave the valedictory address as this year’s recipient of the Andrew William Cary Cup.

“Bring flavor to whatever it is that you do,” is the advice DeCree received from his mother (former upper school counselor Shekyra DeCree) that he passed along to his fellow graduates. “Be bold, be different, be great and make it yours.”

Robert L. Solomon II, Assistant Vice Provost for The Ohio State University Office of Diversity and Inclusion as well as a member of Academy’s Board of Trustees from 2009-15 and parent of CA alumni Lee Solomon ’14 and Allegra Solomon ’16, followed with an impassioned Commencement Address enumerating the debts owed by all Columbus Academy graduates and how they can be repaid.

“Your character, your involvement, effort, attitudes and actions can create a pathway for others or it can create roadblocks,” he told our Class of 2019. “You have a legacy to leave, so please don't take it lightly.”

Seniors then crossed the stage to received their diplomas as names were read by Head of Upper School Cory Izokaitis.

Following performances of “Fare Thee Well” and the school’s Alma Mater, the faculty, trustees and graduates departed the ceremony to a standing ovation.

Columbus Academy’s Class of 2019

Katelyn Elizabeth Anderson

John David Barren

Ashley Brooks Larsson Barricks

Courtney Anne Batchelor

Jacob Austin Beck

Keenan Lawrence Bellisari

Mira Belle Bhasin

Carolyn Olivia Bowman

Christopher D. Boyle

Claire Isabella Budzik

Sarah Lucila Cabré

John H. Campbell

Kyle Channell

Deven Ramon Cobb

Hayden John Compton

Caleb Douglas Crawley

Maria Mercedes Crestanello

Shelemiah Crockett

Jordan Allen Dearing-Hardiman

Dalyn Anthony DeCree

Sidney Silver Derzon

Eric Richard DeVore

Robert Winford Diller

Caroline Hogan Driggs

Cole R. Duffy

Sidney Hope Edson

Jacob Payne Eismann

Madalynn Margaret Farkas

Abigail AuCoin Fisher

William Robert Galbreath

Gunnar F. Geiger

Johnathon Oscar Giller

Maximilian Frank Glass

Marcus Jai Singh Grewal

Julia Malina Gurevitz

Drew Ryan Haffer

Paul Victor Hansen

Mary Ella Hatcher

Kaitlyn Elisabeth Heintzelman

Sydney Beckett Hill

Patrick Hughes

Thomas Morgan Jones

Alison Inji Kang

Samantha Grace Kass

Spencer Christian Kaswinkel

Malcolm Macaulay Klingbeil

Jennifer Whitney Bell L'Hommedieu

Alexis Hannah Leader

David Li

Virginia Linqian Ma

Aidan Kekoa Macchia

Aisling Mary Grace Maguire

Caroline Grace Mallory

Rekha K. Marar

William E. Mathews

Madelyn Rose McAfee

Liam Sean Hartley McCann

Alexander Austin McClellan

Israeljah Khi-Reign Mendenhall

Eric Menq

Hayden Robert Meyers

Molly Bradford Milbourne

Ryan Hannah Milbourne

Harrison Pierce Mills

Dorrian James Moultrie

Ethan Russell Nankervis

Sidney Frank Greyson Noblitt III

Tani Naomi Obikunle

Leah Bouvier Pierre-Louis

Kayla Bryanne Podgurski

Callista Elizabeth Popp

Cathryn Lydia Poulin

Nicholas Scott Raiken

Abhinav Ramesh

Himaja V. Reddy

Cheyenne Cierra Redman Sullivan

Gwyndolyn Camille Reeves

Jacob S. Rhee

Nicholas Lowell Rothmann

Jacob James Sardo

Sophie Jacqueline Schiff

Tyler Lewis Schlonsky

Megan Elizabeth Schmitz

Evan Johnson Scott

Taranya Reddy Seri

Jordan Alexis Skilken

Averill Jane Smith

Kaija L. Snyder

Colin Sullivan

Suriya Guru Sundaram

Aiyana Grace Taylor

Sophia C. Tidwell

Madeline Faye Tuckerman

Harika Vandrasi

Cole Stephen Walker

Aden Joshua Weiser

Haylee Rose White

Katelyn Anne Wunsch